Fashion Spotlight: “Game Of Thrones” Jason Momoa “Fashion and Fantasy- Study Of Style”

Standard

As Jason Momoa was trying out for the role of mighty warlord Khal Drogo in HBO’s Game of Thrones, he read George R.R. Martin’s novel. He recalls his reaction when he reached the end of the book:

Jason-Momoa

“I was reading it and I was like: ‘Holy s–t! F–k, I’m dead!’”

Indeed! Even as viewers were reeling from losing Sean Bean’s Ned Stark in episode 9, Thronesdelivered a second heavy blow in Sunday’s season finale: The toughest character in Thronesdied from an infected cut (helped along by a vengeful woman whose village Drogo’s army destroyed).

“When I read that Khal Drogo role, I was blown away,” Momoa says. “I couldn’t believe it was happening, I had to have that role. I was like, ‘Nobody is going to take that role from me.’”

GAME OF THRONES: Get the latest news, photos, and more

Momoa had to learn the invented Dothraki language, which he memorized by thinking of each line of dialog as if it were music. Playing the stoic character was also more challenging than it may have looked on screen.

“People say it’s easy — ‘You’re just sitting there!’” he says. “But it’s extremely hard to be extremely intimidating, and say everything but not say anything.” (Read it again and you’ll get it).

The actor will be seen this summer in the big screen reboot of Conan the Barbarian, a coveted role that he says Thrones helped him land (the projects shared a casting director). He says he’ll miss being on Thrones, but encourages fans to stick with the show.“It’s amazing what [George R.R. Martin] sets up,” he says of the novels. “Here’s your lead characters, you’re supposed to think about them one way, and you hate them, then you love them, and then they’re killed and it’s a whirlwind of emotion. All the little kids and even the smallest of characters just grow and grow and grow. He built a beautiful world. I’m bummed I’m not going back. To play Khal Drogo was phenomenal and I wished there was more stuff he could have done, I’m going to miss that character.”

Fashion wise, Jason Momoa is a mens wear designers’ dream. The hunky 6’5″  style chameleon would look great in a Glade plastic bag. As a designer and stylist, the first task at hand would be ‘The Conversation’. I would want to know what makes him happy, what things does he like, what is he comfortable in, and if he has ‘problem areas’, what are they? (stop snickering, I don’t see any flaws on this man either). In my presentation, I kept in mind that  Jason is a free-spririt, which means that he more than likely would not be following any major trends VERY closely. “Free-spirited” fashion magnets usually walk the fine line in-between chic and comfort, wearing a pair of weary,path-beatened birkenstocks , well worn denim jeans , a colorful Herme’s scarf coupled with a $15,000 birkin ‘man-bag’ (the oversized birkin that is usually larger than the original birkin). What you have just witnessed is called ‘style Je ne sais pas quoin’, the intuitive style that some individuals have, making them look wonderful in just about anything.  Above are a few of my designs aimed for Jason. I attempted to dress Jason in more casual styles, shying away from his normal ultra casual persona. I then added luxury details , such as the crocodile bomber jacket  coupled with a pair of flat front tropical wool trousers.   Overall, the presentation is a fun but very stylish, casual but very sexy. I think Jason would approve.

All footwear is sponsored by “Mr Porter “ take a look at this wonderful site, the number 1 online menswear shopping hub for ALL distinguished fashion insiders. If you need styling services, contact me through my site on the right side of the blog. Happy Shopping 🙂

4 responses »

  1. Really talented work. Its rare to find a fashion designer that can illustrate well. I wish you would show the flats as well. It would look more like a real fashion presentation board. Fabulous work!!!!

    • Hi Shane,
      I use to incorporate flats into my presentations, but was warned against it by my mentor. This world is very small when it comes to online communications, and I DO NOT want to give anyone my designs for free. Flats clearly, visually explain how garments are to be made and are usually used when I technically design for my clients. This sensitive information can be used to create garments with my permission. I realize that I am taking a chance by displaying original design online in order to get my talent out to the world, and that is a calculated risk. I cant go further than that. I glad you enjoy the work, I love what I do and my dream one day is to have clients all around the world that can utilize my design skills in their businesses. Thanks for your continued support 🙂

  2. This is bananas! You really have some talent kid. Keep up the hard work, you will get exactly what you want and more. God knows the NYC apparel industry needs you with all the self-absorbed,drug addicted pre-maddonas prancing around 7th avenue, they cant even design themselves out a paper bag. I hope to see more of you. Left my info on your guestbook in one of your websites. You a star kiddo, the world just don’t know it yet

Leave a Reply

