Politics: Todd Akins – “Rape Can Be Ligitimate”- When Power Goes All Wrong

Standard

 

Rarely do I get involved with politics. I have lost many o’friend after learning about some of the hateful, harmful ideologies that some individuals believe in, so I just keep my mouth shut, onward and upward to fashion world domination:)

I draw the line, when I come across talk or rhetoric that is outright ignorant and disgusting, hence the topic for today.

Rape – To Be or Not To Be,….that is the question, or rather was it legitimate or ,…er,..not legitimate. No, I am a pretty ignorant to most state and federal laws. I know not to drive fast- go to jail or hurt somebody, or not to walk up to someone and slap the hell out of them, (even when I really want to at Friday’s design meetings) – instant assault charges- add handcuffs – jail time and stir rapidly.

These are the basics, and like many of you, I walk the ‘straight and narrow’, trying never to veering over into “Law-break Land”. With this being said, explain to me how “Legitimate” and “Rape”, two words that are completely opposite of each other, arrive in the same sentence  a few days ago, out of the mouth of a hapless politician by the name of Todd Akins.

I am going to break this down further, with definitions,

Rape:

1. The crime of forcing another person to submit to sex acts, especially sexual intercourse.

2. The act of seizing and carrying off by force; abduction.
3. Abusive or improper treatment; violation: a rape of justice.

tr.v. rapedrap·ingrapes

1. To force (another person) to submit to sex acts, especially sexual intercourse; commit rape on.
2. To seize and carry off by force.
3. To plunder or pillage.

ok class,..now lets learn about the word “legitimate”,….

legitimate

1. Being in compliance with the law; lawful: a legitimate business.

2. Being in accordance with established or accepted patterns and standards: legitimate advertising practices.

3. Based on logical reasoning; reasonable: a legitimate solution to the problem.
4. Authentic; genuine: a legitimate complaint.
5. Born of legally married parents: legitimate issue.
6. Of, relating to, or ruling by hereditary right: a legitimate monarch.

7. Of or relating to drama of high professional quality that excludes burlesque, vaudeville, and some forms of musical comedy: the legitimate theater.

With that being clearly explained, how can one man  bring two words that clearly NOT meant to be formed together, place them in a sentence, and let that sentence fall from his lips?

Much of this ill-informed debate was based around productive rights concerning women, with Akins legitimizing rape “if a child is conceived during the event”. Akins further explains that the female body, will during the act of this traumatic event, produces “defense hormones” that will kill the spermatozoa if the event was “traumatic”- Hence if the women was TRUELY raped , a child would be nearly impossible to conceive. Now I am just a lowly fashion designer, not a doctor or any of the like, but even I know that what Akins explained is so far from the truth, its laughable, if not for the subject that it represents.  For 2 summers, here in New York, I volunteered at the police precinct 40, located in the bronx for the PAL organization. I witnessed, personally, several rape victims, and it was unsettling for me. The pain, the horror, the misery that accompanies rape is difficult to deal with, and thats AFTER the brutal act itself.  I am neither Pro-life or the other Pro-something, I don’t have a vagina, so its NONE of my business. But instead of explaining away our legal system Mr Akins, lets talk instead talk about the psychological trauma that these in individuals go through, men and women. When you are raped, it destroys your basic system of trust concerning ANYBODY, you are never the same, ever, for the rest of your life. One may heal over the years, but the “hole” that is left, can never really be repaired. The very body you were born with, your ultimate possession in this existence, was used, taken away from you  and there was NOTHING you could do about it.  I continued my research online today and came across this tweet by Julia Segal, noted comedienne

Im sorry Ms Segal,……………………did I miss something? Last time I noted to self about “Law-break Land”, and socially acceptable humor, rape is not a “chuckle,chuckle,snort,snort” type of joke, in fact its NOT funny at all.

*Note to Self* Not ALL humans with vaginas are socially evolved concerning BASIC human/womans rights and will do ANYTHING to  get notoriety.

Im sorry for my rant, but this just rubbed me the wrong way,…

You see, I am a male rape survivor…

MY pain, MY troubles, MY misery is NOT a platform for mindless politicians and or insensitive comedienne. It’s a struggle that I go through every day to remain happy and full of joy, and not sink back in the cesspool full of distrust,anger,malice, and hatred. Simply put,my experience  is not fodder to further someones political or comical career.

About Seaki Fashion Designer / Illustrator

Seaki Nelson is owner and founder of Seaki Creative Services, a freelance design company based out of NYC. With over 19 years in the international fashion community, Seaki is a fashion industry veteran, working with companies such as , such as Calvin Klien, Baby Phat,Phat Farm,Sean John,Marithe Francious Girbaud, Tommy Hilfiger to name a few. His enormous product design talent, and eye for detail and trend-spotting has garnered Seaki a dedicated following of some of the world's most powerful fashion industry professionals. Thank you for your support Thank You :)

5 responses »

  1. I don’t know you, but I am so impressed with your honesty and candor about your rape. You are a wonderful example for men and women going through this difficult situation.
    Many blessing 2 u:)

  2. I don’t want to be weird or get in your business, but where did the rape take place? Was u in jail, cuz rape happens a lot in jail to make a fella your punk or bitch. How old were u?

    • No,..questions are very appropriate concerning male rape. This particular subject has ALWAYS BEEN the ‘HUGE pink elephant in the room’ of issues dealing with rape and sexual assault, as most men are ashamed to admit that they were victim to such a crime. I was 16, and it happened at my best friends house, his father was the perpetrator, a man that had a known history of sexual abuse. In court , others came forward, but I was the FIRST. His charges were 6 counts of rape,sexual assault, sodomy with a minor (s) He died in prison

  3. Honest and bold- Very well written. Even though I find Akin’s comments to be repulsive, and did as soon as I heard them, this made me think about the whole issue in a different way, from a different view. And that makes me disrespect him even more. Thank you for writing this.

Leave a Reply

