Politics – Why is Ted Nugent Not Getting the “Dixie Chicks” Treatment, Is This A TRUE Warning For Obama’s Safety In The Near Future?

Standard

Keep in mind, Im not a political person. If it does revolve around this season fashion trends, my career, or what looks good on my body, I usually leave it for the political “talking-heads” that I listen to will working. With that being said, (my PC disclaimer ),Ted Nugent ruffled some ‘washington feathers’  at the National Rifle Association convention April 14 in St. Louis, Mo.

“If Barack Obama becomes the president in November again, I will either be dead or in jail by this time next year,” Nugent said, according to a video posted on YouTube by the NRA. “If you can’t go home and get everybody in your lives to clean house in this vile, evil, America-hating administration, I don’t even know what you’re made out of.”

I remember hearing the sound-bite on CNN, and I stopped in my tracks, and listened in, It was one of those moments where I will always remember where I was, ordering a few delicious tops for spring on Amazon. I stood  gob-smacked, and said to my self, “Obama secret service-ATTACK THIS IDIOT!”. I respect Ted Nugent ‘s political views, its his right to feel they way that he does. But I draw the line when you threatened the life of our Commander-In-Chief,  he is OUR president, the leader of MY country, America, (Yes , I am VERY patriotic, have been all over this world in my business travels, and America is simply fabulous!). It has now been reported that Ted Nugent is paying that cost for his reckless comments at our sitting president.

The aging musician who was to play July 23 at Ft. Knox in Kentucky with co-headliners REO Speedwagon and Styx at a concert celebrating the U.S. military, was scratched from the lineup.

“After learning of opening act Ted Nugent’s recent public comments about the president of the United States, Ft. Knox leadership decided to cancel his performance,”read a post made to the U.S. Army’s Ft. Knox Facebook page.

To add another hot poker to this PR disaster for Ted Nugent, the longtime shock rocker met with two “fine, professional” agents in Oklahoma, where he’s scheduled for an evening gig, he said in a statement Thursday afternoon. Mr. Nugent did not barricade himself in his dressing room. The Feds did not haul him away in handcuffs.

Instead they all had a nice chat about Nugent’s recent harsh statements, such as his assertion at last weekend’s National Rifle Association convention that if President Obama is reelected “I will either be dead or in jail by this time next year.” The Secret Service apparently came away convinced that Nugent is only a threat to decorum, not the chief executive of the US.

“The issue has been resolved” and the agency “does not anticipate any further action,” Secret Service spokesman Brian Leary told the Washington Post.

Ok, Now lets rewind to  March 2003,

Music superstars the Dixie Chicks where finding out that criticizing President Bush’s plans for war in Iraq can cost you air play, big time,( can I remind you that years later,…..THEY WHERE RIGHT,…)

Country stations across the United States pulled the Chicks from playlists following reports that lead singer Natalie Maines said in a concert in London earlier that week that she was “ashamed the president of the United States is from Texas.”

Station managers said their decisions were prompted by calls from irate listeners who thought criticism of the president was unpatriotic.

The group, which got its start in Texas, was one of the darlings of this year’s Grammy Awards. The three-woman band that blends blue grass and pop hooks has spawned legions of fans who embrace the ideals of strong women celebrated in some of the trio’s songs.

One station in Kansas City, Missouri held a Dixie “chicken toss” party Friday morning, where Chick critics were encouraged to dump the group’s tapes, CDs and concert tickets into trash cans.

Houston country station KILT pulled the band’s records from its playlist — at least temporarily — after 77 percent of people polled on its Web site said they supported the move.

“We’ve got them off the air for right now,” said Jeff Garrison, program director at KILT, which is owned by Viacom’s Infinity Broadcasting Corp.

“People are shocked. They cannot believe Texas’ own have attacked the state and the president,” Garrison said.

Lead singer Maines said in a statement she felt the president was ignoring the opinions of many in the United States and alienating the rest of the world by pushing for war with Iraq, ( can I remind you,..THAT THEY WERE RIGHT!).

“We’ve been overseas for several weeks and have been reading and following the news accounts of our government’s position. The anti-American sentiment that has unfolded here is astounding,” Maines said.

One of the country stations in Dallas that helped champion the Chicks when they were scraping by in that city playing gigs on street corners for tips, “99.5 The Wolf,” said they are listening to the listener’s views but do not think it is right to immediately jump on the bandwagon and stop playing the Chicks, said program director Paul Williams.

Williams then said it is too early to tell how strong a backlash may develop against the Chicks. He said the comments touched a deep nerve in Texas because they came from one of the biggest country groups to come out of the state and were directed at a president who calls Texas home.

“The listener outlash is probably bigger here than anywhere else,” William said.

The Chicks had the number one country album in the United States on the Billboard charts called “Home” and the No. 1 single with “Travelin’ Soldier”, which was about a U.S. soldier who fought in Vietnam. Now let me get this right, The Dixie Chicks simply said that they were “ashamed that President Bush was from their state”= MAJOR backlash,..while Ted Nugent THREATENS the life of the our sitting Commander-and-Chief = a few dates pulled, NO backlash, (as of yet, I remember that backlash for the Dixie Chicks was IMMEDIATE),..uh,..America,..Hypocrisy much? The ” The Ted Nugent Fiasco” only comes a few days after the Secret Service “sexual escapades” that is all over international news. Now, I dont like conspiracy theorist, I think these “drama junkies”  usually are drinking from the same ‘well of insanity and ego’, but indulge my suspicions please, I wont take long. President threat+Secret Service found to be inadequate+ world wide media showing potential security gaps in Presidential security detail= President assassinate attempts while the “powers-that-be” sit back and blame the Secret Service, with a “I told you so” smirk. I feel that all of these circumstances maybe a ‘lead-up’ to something MAJOR, (I hope not!!!and Secret Service, If you view this entry, I am just theorizing, don’t come and hog-tie me,…please:) But seriously, what is REALLY going on? My nana always told me that world events ALWAYS where predictable, and “happened in three’s-perfect sequential order, and she was the one in our family that predicted the murder of then sitting president, Robert Kennedy! There it is, I know I  must seem outlandish, but just a little something to make you think. With all that is going on around the world, these events seem to stand out to me because of their apparent hypocrisy and deadly rhetoric.It  has been a crime to threaten the life of the president since 1917, according to a recent Congressional Research Service report on the Secret Service and its mission, so what was Ted Nugent real motives? To incite deadly violence , or just being the “Shock Rocker-gun totting-hunter-wacko” that has garnered him world wide fame?

We live in a wonderful country that protects our rights, most of them, most of the time, but is it too much to ask for famous people that have a wide forum of admires,fans,etc. to be responsible for their actions and rhetoric, even more so than non-famous people? Further more, I want to know where these “events” will lead, as we enter a presidential race that is “messy and ugly” to say the least. I do not agree with some of Obama’s politics, but I voted for him, and if you disrespect my president, then you are disrespecting my vote, my rights to vote, and  finally my country.”Second-guessing” our democracy  with angry, potentially violent rhetoric is an insult to every American citizen, in this country and around the world. 

One response »

  1. Well like I said on fb I don’t see where Ted Nugent is as relevant now as the Dixie Chicks were when everything happened w/them.

    Now w/that said I’m guessing that the secrect service & FBI is keeping a very close (albeit quiet) watch on Ted Nugent. My Grandmother used to tell us “Every eye that’s close ain’t sleep.” So if we hear about Ted Nugent perishing in a car or plane accident, or having a massive heart attack, or being riddled w/buckshot shot in a hunting accident etc anytime soon… I would assume that big brother stepped in and neutralized him.

    People can threaten the President openly.Yet he can’t always respond openly.

Leave a Reply

