First Lady Michelle Obama’s Day Trip In Paris / Style 101 Volume 6# Two Smashing Looks to Grab

Standard


My imaginary meeting with the First Lady Michelle Obama is in Washington D.C., Its a balmy 82 degrees outside  and I am meeting one of the most interesting women in the world. The eatery, The Source, located at 575 Pennsylvania Avenue, is wonderful. We are meeting on the patio at our table that is being bathed by the beautiful sunlight. A gentle breeze whisk by my up-kept dreadlocks, in their usual ornate design, adorned with gold and brass beaded jewelry. I love to adorn all of my body, tastefully, and today is not an exception. I am wearing a Canali classic two button wool suit in black that’s easy to wear and basic enough for everyday. Coupled with a Hugo Boss red silk , and John Lobb Riviera suede loafers that are super soft and oh so luscious. I look up from my Blackberry playbook, and there is a smart dressed male, darting up to the table, asking my name. I address him, as a second comes to my side to frisk me. This IS the First Lady, so I am going to let this “slight inconvenience” slide. I sit back down, and the second “man in black”, relays that Mrs Obama will be up in a few minutes. I notice that his voice is almost robotic, I turn away, and continue to sip on my martini to steady my nerves. My nose notices a gentle whiff of  Creed’s “Love is White”, and I began to straighten my posture, as the First Lady is nearby, since that is her favorite fragrance. the First Lady walks up the stairs to the patio, flanked by several Secret Service men.As so much activity is bustling around her every move, she seem s as cool and effortlessly graceful as a lilly in a spring breeze. She reaches to shake my hands, and as I shake her’s, I notice her skin is silky smooth, ( I am a designer and stylist folks, I notice EVERYTHING!). Her handshake is self assured, strong, but feminine. She orders a Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand, me,….no more alcohol for me I need my “game face”.

Mrs Obama needs 2 looks for a day trip visit to Paris, and here is my presentation, courtesy of Net-A-Porta.

For this small selection, I maintained a light palette with colors that would compliment the First Lady’s delicious,chocolate brown skin. Teals, beiges w/ undertone of pink and orange, and light simmering emerald  greens seemed perfect to me.

A. For the day, I would imagine the First Lady will be attending a few functions during her day in Paris, and since this a day trip, a dress that is stylish and simple is essential. Etro Printed stretch silk-chiffon dress is perfect. The silhouette is perfect with a stylish cowl-neck, in case of last minute accessory choices.

B. Though I would love to see the First Lady in a pair of louboutin, towering over other dowdy first ladies,  she MUST be image conscience and NOT been seen towering over the president. Besides high-heels are too “riske'” for image reason, so I decided on a pair of Lizzy Patent – leather pumps by Jimmy Choo

C. It maybe ‘nippy’ that afternoon in Paris, so a blue teal sweater shrug can be added ( not shown), but I added a “cocktail shrug” to have this look transition well into lunch meetings-mid evening, I have added  Temperley  London Rosine Printed Silk Shrug. This was a controversial choice, and maybe on the “chopping-block”, but I can always replace it with a conservative,but stylish jacket.

D. A Quilted clutch to match the shoes, ( though im told that First Ladies rarely have any type of handbags on outings, I still included on.)Marc Jacobs Baroque Large Eugenie Quilted Leather clutch (item sold out, will be back in stock soon)

E. The First lady needs an accessory that highlights her wonderful complection, and a brush gold, chunky necklace is perfect. I choose LANVIN Swarovski crystal and cord chain necklace

Evening

As with the day looks, the evening look was very simple, an off he shoulder  eye-catching dress, some sassy peep-toes, and a chunky , textural cuff.

F. This is the tie for a little sexyness, so I gave the First Lady a sexy pump, peep toe, with a fabulous python texture and look, Miu-Mui snake-effect leather pumps fit the bill.

G. I wanted a simple accessory, something that said “power, but very regal”, I chose a YVES SAINT LAURENT Arty gold-plated glass cuff

H. Now for the dress. the First Lady has a beautifully toned body, with shoulders that are fit and beautiful, so why not show them off with a dress that has a daring asymmetrical neckline, baring one shoulder! I chose  a RALPH LAUREN COLLECTION Larisa one-shoulder silk gown

There you have it, 2 simple but elegant looks for a day trip to the “city of lights”, I hope the First Lady would approve as she now boards Airforce 1, back to the country that loves her effortless style and grace.

Leave a Reply

